Manchester Based Photographer, Illustrator & Designer

First Food Shoot

A couple of weeks ago I assisted on my first food shoot. I’d never really looked into food photography before, but it’s pretty interesting… and pretty weird. We (HighContrast.co.uk) were shooting recipes involving ice cream, not the easiest of substances to work with.

Everything has to be done in such a meticulous manner and so darn quickly. You literally get 20-30 seconds to shoot before there’s just a puddle left in the viewfinder! But we booked in a real good food stylist called Kate Wesson and she had loads of odd tricks to keep things rolling smoothly. Good food stylists are like gold-dust though. It’s so hard to book stylists in, especially at short notice. I might re-train!

It was a busy old day, 12 shots to get down, which doesn’t sound like a lot, but when you’re shooting this kind of product it’s a big ask! We had to get a couple of shots of each recipe so we had two separate lighting setups on the go. Good job there’s plenty of room in the studio! I did a lot of swapping triggers that day!

The client paid for some pretty cool stuff though. We had a refrigerated truck sat outside with loads of product stored in the back. We had a nice little budget for picking up all the ingredients too, most of which were alcoholic! I think I had half of Selfridges running round bringing me obscure liqueurs! If I liked shopping then I imagine that side of shoots would be a treat… unfortunately shopping and I don’t get along so well.

Anyway, here are a couple of shots I took from behind the scenes. I’ve taken to throwing a spare Pocket Wizard on my camera and hijacking the lights! Gets some great documentation.


Comments are closed.