Manchester Based Photographer, Illustrator & Designer

wounded in battle!

I’m not sure I like this BMX nonsense anymore. What am I playing at, learning to bmx at the age of 22 (I grew a year wiser this week unfortunately) ? I’ve ridden road bikes for about five years now, and I’ve only fallen once; the first day I used clipless pedals…and everyone falls on the first ride I swear. Even on this occassion it was only a minor act of instability, promptly quashed by a springy grass verge. Anyway, I’ve been riding my minature wheeled deadweight for a couple of weeks now and I’m already loosing count of the falls. Obviously I should expect this, trying to perfect various maverick acts of deft bike handling, however, I really do object to these new realms of bruising and broken skin. I managed to excavate my left shin this evening, in the renegade act of jumping a speed bump no less. My shin looks decidedly more lumpy than usual, and I have enlisted the help of a long sock to prevent soiling my beadsheets with wound juice.

2 responses

  1. vicp

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab. After the accident I found out about two other cyclists who suffered hip fractures because they couldn’t release from their pedals.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

    January 15, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  2. andrewlewiscampbell

    Could you not just drop the spring tension a bit or reduce the float? I’ve never really had a problem, I love clipless pedals, and I’m sure they’ve saved my bacon countless times, they keep everything together…and keep everything efficient! I’m all about the clipless love!

    January 23, 2009 at 10:22 am

Leave a Reply

